« Shhh! Just let me kees | Home | Tiny piglet squeals of delight! »

Apr 20, 2008

This is a stick-up!

Empty your pockets of ALL the dried cat food you have and place it in this bag here. I MEAN IT

Z40233201

Nice lil' masked bandito, Eleanor W. I gave him everything I had.

Email to a Friend | Add to del.icio.us |

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d83451b09f69e200e551efaad38833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference This is a stick-up!:

Comments

'Coons! I loves me some bandits. Methinks we needs more here on CO :D

Haili
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:15 PM

Meeeeeeg, haven't we seen this pic on CO before??

[I don't think so, this time, but feel free to go looking... if you find it, go ahead & stick the post's URL in another comment - Ed.]

Dan Bledwich
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:19 PM

I'd clean out my cupboards for this lil dude!!

Martha in Washington
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:25 PM

Wow!!! Is that someone's pet? Or did he really just wander in the house? He's so cute! I'm not sure he wants the special kidney formula I feed my cat, but he can have some!I have to say he's kind of small, the ones we get around here are freaking huge, like a big tumbleweed!

Kendra
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:27 PM

So cute! Not sure he really wants my kidney diet cat food, but hey, I'm willing to hand it over! Our racoons are much bigger, like tumbleweed size, but maybe that's their winter coat. I just know they were outside my door one night and I wasn't about to tell them to stop eating the cat food!

KendraPT
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:31 PM

They like Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches.

No really...one winter we had a whole herd of raccoons coming over the house for supper...they LOVED PB&J and the warm milk we left out for them. Momma even brought the babies by the next season to show off.

Regina Franchi
 |  Apr 20, 2008 at 11:38 PM

So cute, so naughty, so aggravating. These guys break into my house through the cat door WHEN I"M HOME and destroy my kitchen. I woke up one night to see one standing in the bedroom staring at me, then it growled at me and told me that my taste in decor was horrible, made fun of my pajamas and then told me to get the heck out of my own house. OK, not all of that is true but he was in my bedroom and scared the daylights outta me.

Poeski
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:53 AM

They also unlocked the chicken coop and beat up our beloved chicken, Mister Fatty. :(

Poeski
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:55 AM

OMG they are learning to walk bipedally! Our dominion as rulers of the earth is threatened!

Katie
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:59 AM

I imagine heem with an Edward G. Robinson voice:

Myah, me and the boys, we're gonna mess up your garbage cans, see? Myah.

lol poeski

berthaservant (no longer berthaslave)
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 01:25 AM

Muchos grathias for de kibble seniora.

Hon Glad
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 01:51 AM

COON-A-LOONS!!!

Subhangi
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 01:58 AM

raccoons may be cute,but they can be vicious enough to out fight a pit bull.-Woods Walker

Woods Walker
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 02:05 AM

@Poeski & Subhangi: LOL!

"Esto es un robo! Manos arriba!!"

It's a little hard to take this bandito seriously, standing upright. I think you could tickle his belleh and he'd cave!!!!

Gail
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 03:10 AM

It is UNCANNY how bipedal that little raccoon looks. I am now convinced that this is his normal mode of locomotion. Did you ever see that video of the dog with only hind legs, that walks around like a freaky little person? I imagine him walking around the neighbourhood like that. Everyone knows him. He sure spooks new arrivals, though.

Sarah
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 03:29 AM

Something about the way this 'cooner is standing and the look on his face reminds me of Rugby from The Christmas Toy. Anyone else?

Erica
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 03:54 AM

I get TONS in my back yard and thoroughly enjoy watching the babies play. They certainly raid my bird feeder and bird bath. Occassionally, I will sit out apples or other natural foods.

kk3
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 04:02 AM

HA! What a cutie! Makes me forget about the much larger, meaner, walking-on- four-legs variety that break dances on the roof at 3am and use the kids' sandbox as a restroom!

nads
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 04:36 AM

Argh. Have had too many encounters with the things at camp to remotely like them.

Trust me, do NOT pay protection money (food) to this little Mafioso!

Cat
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 04:45 AM

@Poeski LOLOL!!! What kind of pajamas were you wearing? Please don't tell me they were the red wool ones with the flap in the back?
*falls on floor giggling uncontrollably*

P.S. Is Mr. Fatty OK?

ButtaRumCake
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 04:51 AM

I'm sad to see the proof that raccoons don't have coon-ta-loons :(

karebear
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 05:21 AM

I too have had close encounters of the scary kind with these seemingly innocuous fellas. 'Specially when they gang up-- then they're really really BAD (and not in a good way). My magical magnetic cat door will not let anything in that is not wearing the magical magnetic amulet, so I feel safe in my bed.

SoCalSis
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 06:15 AM

We had a serious raccoon overload at our farm last summer - they are cute and all, but they are not cuddly or friendly. They want food, they want it NOW and they don't want you near them. Don't be fooled by the cute little faces. Babies are not good pets either. Oh about a week they're cute and all... but after that, they bite, they tear things up and they bite.

Enjoy raccoons from afar... seriously.

Ermine Violin
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 06:38 AM

Another reason to enjoy from afar: 'coons can pass nasty diseases like rabies. A wild 'coon that appears tame and docile may simply be ill instead. Look but don't touch!

LittleRockerGurl
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 06:45 AM

This is reminding of the trouble I am in with my father-in law. He had been trying to catch this raccoon for three weeks and I let it out the trap when he finally caught it. But they were gonna eat him! Just so you know, raccoons of the world you owe me!!

lsuhillary
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 06:57 AM

"Excuse me is this the Shirt Tales movie open call?"

tank
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 07:04 AM

Walking-upright raccoons and cats with thumbs...say goodbye to the top of the food chain, everyone!

Rachel of Cyberia
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 07:09 AM

The next step in Racoon evolution:

Walking like a Red Panda.

kar
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 07:26 AM

Yikes. I'd crap my pants if I saw this in my house.

Babs
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 07:27 AM

I've had raccoons come in my house before but never on two legs! And they ALWAYS came for the dry cat food!

Cathy
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 07:32 AM

Oh my goodness! Too cute!

@Poeski - hahahahahahaha! I'm sitting here still laughing at your post.

I grew up with raccoons always trying to get in the trash cans. Woe to you if you didn't bungee cord the lids onto your trash cans at night! These guys are world class scavengers!!!
Once we moved into the other house, two raccoons that were LITERALLY beating the crap out of each other on the back deck woke my dad up one night. He thought somebody was rather blatantly trying to break into the house or something. He tried to Shoo them away, and they looked at him like, "Whatever dude." And of course, went back to screaming and fighting. The next morning, the deck was covered with raccoon poop and hair! Lovely!

Kris
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 08:02 AM

I think that's a tiny person in a raccoon suit.

Berg
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 08:30 AM

Didn't know that these little guys could walk upright! Cute - but deadly!

"Please, Sir, may I 'ave some more?"

ThreeCatNight
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 08:36 AM

They LOOK cute, but raccoons are becoming a growing problem in more-populated areas. After reading this link, you will never see them in the same way again.
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dpd/parasites/baylisascaris/factsht_baylisascaris.htm
(precis:
Raccoon roundworm

Many raccoons carry a roundworm called baylisascaris. Infected raccoons pass baylisascaris eggs in the feces. Other animals and people can get infected if they accidentally swallow the eggs in soil or water. Developmentally disabled persons or young children who play outside are at highest risk.
After the eggs are swallowed they hatch into larvae that move to different parts of the body and can cause serious illness within a week. Symptoms may include tiredness, lack of coordination, loss of muscle control, blindness, and coma.
Baylisascaris infection is rare, but is believed to be underdiagnosed. Anyone suspected of having swallowed raccoon feces should seek health care immediately. Early treatment can prevent infection and serious illness.---source: Seattle & King County Public Health)

Deb
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 09:06 AM

moral of the story: don't eat raccoon poop

Theo
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 09:07 AM

For serious!
Always know where the poop you're eating comes from!!!!

Kris
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 09:16 AM

CUTE OVERLOAD COMMENTS:
Elegance and Sophistication, Twenty-Four by Seven.™

Theo
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 09:19 AM

From regular CO posters, Noel Coward and Cole Porter. ;)

Theresa
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 10:00 AM

Ooh ooh ooh! Which one am I??

Theo
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 10:07 AM

Yep, Poeski, that was a really funny comment. And to tell you the truth, I'm sure he was disapproving of your PJs, your decor and everything else.
And I'd also like to know if Mr Fatty lived to tell the tale. Don't keep us in suspense!!!

Kallisto
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 10:23 AM

Don't feed racoons...they bring back friends and family in droves, and will strive to get into your house any way they can! Cute buggers, tho...

Gwenny
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 10:48 AM

I used to have a raccoon come in through the cat door once a week or so at my urban townhouse. He'd neatly peel a banana, eat it, wash his hands in the cat's water, then leave the peel on the floor. At first I though a family member had eaten a banana and left the peel next to the trash can, but I kept finding more later but never saw the coon.

My cat is brave but was scared of it. He started waking me up each time it came in and I finally saw the coon leaving through the cat door one early morning. I found a way to scare him off.

We had a system of two cat doors, one from the house into the garage, then one from the garage out to the patio. My cat woke me up in time to see him go into the garage. I quickly and quietly open the patio door, lights off and waited until he was leaving the patio, facing away from me. I made the most ungodly and unrecognizable sounds (growling, screeching, gurgling) with my mouth and he ran like hell and never came back!

The unseen imagined threat behind him was far scarier than some yelling human!

Patty P
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 11:42 AM

He does look freakily natural walking on 2 feet.

Mary
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 11:45 AM

I've also had a "wild" raccoon at a Texas state park walk quickly out of the woods, come right up to me and gently take a banana out of my hand (that I was in the process of eating) and run back in the woods. As the coon took the banana, my husband said, "Don't feed that racoon!"

Duh! I didn't have a choice. What was I going to do, slap him? The coon, I mean! Then he brought his four friends and we had to go inside the screened shelter and latch the door. They tried to get in for quite a while.

Don't be fooled, they will do anything to get to your food and can be extremely destructive and viscious. If you get bitten, you will probably require rabies treatment since the coon will run off before he can be caught checked for rabies.

Patty P
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 11:49 AM

Note to Patty P: Time to cut back on the bananas. ;o)

Kris
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:02 PM

Oh man, that's classic! That's really funny!

Marie
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:14 PM

My friend Cindi was camping once and two raccoons came up and distracted her while two others stole her cup of whiskey.

Minya
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:38 PM

I LOVE coons! (I know, I know, they're destructive, nasty, mean and carry worms and rabies) I've had three as pets and many wild visitors. I just can't help myself!! My Outlaw is the best pet I've ever had!

I SO love the photo!

Horsegirrl
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 12:44 PM

...banditos ar laik zat biikawz zey haf tew diifend zemselfs. Leaf zem aloan laik yew shud. Zey will knot harm yew.

jmuhj
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 01:26 PM

looks like a baroo is coming my way?

Khadija
 |  Apr 21, 2008 at 01:29 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.

« Shhh! Just let me kees | Home | Tiny piglet squeals of delight! »

Sizzearch

  •  
    Web
    cuteoverload.com

CuteMail

  • Receive the daily content of CuteOverload in your email box. Free!

    Your email address will only be used for this purpose and not given out to any other third party.

    Enter your Email


    Powered by FeedBlitz

Cute Caps!

  • Did you know you can add CuteCaps to your own webpage? Try it!

Got Cute?

  • Think you have a cute photo, Punk? [Clint Eastwood voice] If you think it fits our seriously stringent requirements, send it to us. We just might post it! But if we don't, it's really for the best [patting your back.]

Choosey bloggers choose:

  • TypePad!

    If TypePad helps your blog survive a Slashdotting, you know it's strong.

    Set Up Your Blog For Free with TypePad! If I can do it, you tewtelly can.

Email Me

  • press-related: press [at] cutelabs.com
  • business-related: meg [at] cutelabs.com
  • submissions: cuteoverload [at] frostdesign.net

Press Coverageses

  • Don't miss our Press page for ALL pattings on the back!

Sitemeter

Powered by TypePad